Buhari Appoints 30 New Federal High Court Judges


President Muhammadu Buhari, has approved the appointment of 30 new judges for the Federal High Court on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council. A statement by Acting Director, Information, NJC, Mr. Soji Oye, said on Friday that the new judges would be inaugurated on December 2.

“They will be sworn in by the Honourable, the Chief Justice of Nigeria and Chairman of the National Judicial Council, Hon. Justice Mahmud Mohammed, GCON, on Wednesday, the 2nd day of December, 2015 by 10.00 a.m,” the statement read in part.

The new judges include, Chief Registrar of the Federal High Court, Rosemary Dugbo Oghoghorie (Delta State) and a former chairman of the Lagos branch of the Nigerian Bar Association, Taiwo Taiwo (Ogun).

Others are, Yellin Bogoro (Bauchi State),   Ibrahim Watila (Borno State), Mallong Peter Hoommuk (Plateau State),   Isa Hamma Adama Dashen (Adamawa State), Hassan Dikko (Kebbi State), Jude Kanyioh Dagat (Kaduna State) and   Olayinka Olusegun Tokode (Osun State).

They also include, Simon Akpah Amobeda (Kogi State), Jane Egienanwan Inyang (Cross River State), Daniel Emeka Osiagor (Rivers State), Prof. Chuka Austine Obiozor (Anambra State), Iniekenimi Nicholas Oweib ( Bayelsa State), Hassan Muslim Sule (Zamfara State) and Hadiza Rabiu Shagari (Sokoto State).

Also on the list are Saleh Kogo Idrissa (Yobe State), Joyce Obehi Abdulmalik (Edo State), Hillary Ide Osho Oshomah (Edo State), Fadima Murtala Aminu ( Adamawa State), Toyin Bolaji Adegoke (Kwara State), James Kolawole Omotosho (Ogun State), Nehizena Idemudia Ekunwe (Edo State), Stephen Daylop Pam (Plateau State) and Akintayo Aluko (Ekiti State).

The rest are, Dr. Nnamdi O. Dimgba (Abia State), Emeka Nwite (Ebonyi State), Abdulazeez M.Z. Anka (Zamfara State), Abdu Dogo (Federal Capital Territory) and Adamu Turaki Muhammed (Jigawa State).

The Federal High Court currently has 55 judges in about 38 divisions of the court across the federation.