Buhari orders immediate reopening of Nigeria’s land borders (See list)


President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday ordered the immediate opening of four land borders in the country. Buhari’s directive was made public by the Minister of Finance at the end of the virtual Federal Executive Council, FEC, meeting.

Land borders to be opened are Seme in the Southwest, Illela in Sokoto State, Maigatari in the Northwest, and Mfun in the Southsouth.

Buhari had ordered the closure of Nigeria’s land borders due to security concerns.

However, on December 8, 2020, the president had expressed optimism of reopening the borders.

Buhari disclosed that the closure of borders was aimed at curbing the smuggling of weapons and drugs into Nigeria.

He had stated this at a security meeting with members of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.