Champions League group stages: Teams Chelsea, Man Utd, Liverpool, others will face


The draw for the group stage of the Champions League, will take place on Thursday, October 1. Liverpool, Manchester United, City and Chelsea are the Premier League clubs that will be in the pots.

Pot 1: Bayern Munich, Sevilla, Real Madrid, Liverpool, Juventus, PSG, Zenit St Petersburg, FC Porto

Pot 2: Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Manchester City, Manchester United, Borussia Dortmund, Shakhtar Donetsk, Chelsea, Ajax

Pot 3: Dynamo Kiev, FC Salzburg, RB Leipzig, Internazionale, Olympiakos, Lazio, Krasnodar, Atalanta

Pot 4: Lokomotiv Moscow, Marseille, Club Brugge, Borussia Monchengladbach, Istanbul Basaksehir, FC Midtjylland, Stade Rennes, Ferencvaros

The teams will be drawn into eight groups of four teams, with not more than one from each country.

Clubs from Ukraine and Russia cannot be drawn against each other due to political reasons.

The top two will go through to the knockout rounds, with those in third place dropping into the Europa League round of 32.

The group stage begins on Oct. 20 and 21 and w

Liverpool are in Pot 1, but could still face the likes of Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Ajax or Borussia Dortmund in the group stage.

The group stage begins on October 20 and 21 and will be played over six midweeks through to December 9.

Manchester City, United and Chelsea will definitely get one of the big boys from Pot 1, but will be hoping for Porto or Zenit over Bayern, Real Madrid, Juventus or PSG.

There are also dangerous teams in Pots 3 and 4, with the likes of Inter Milan, RB Leipzig and Atalanta potentially throwing up a group of death scenario.

Leave a Reply